Enebeli Emerges 7th NIS President, promises to engage govt on shipping development.

Enebeli Emerges 7th NIS President, promises to engage govt on shipping development.

Dr. Martins Enebeli has emerged the 7th national president of the Nigerian Institute of Shipping (NIS) at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in Lagos on Thursday.

Enebeli who will oversee the affairs of NIS for two years, took over from Captain Anthony Onoharigho.

Speaking shortly after the event, Dr. Enebeli stressed the need for the institute to advise the federal government appropriately on the development of the shipping industry in Nigeria.

Happy Diamond Age

According to him, Nigeria shipping industry controls about 65% cargo throughput in the sub region.

He therefore called on the President to immediately put in place a proper or expanded maritime executive order so that the nation’s shipping sector will be able to upgrade its infrastructure.

His words, “The issue of Nigerian state owning ship has to do with government policy. We will present our own reasoning to the president and commander in chief and to the minister of transport and DG of NIMASA as professional as policy thrust of government vis a vis owning of ships

“How it benefits us, how does it impact on our people vis a vis the growing population particularly in the littoral states, the shipping industry and others.

“We had shipping policy, the decree 10 of 1987, the Nigerian Maritime and shipping policy should be enhanced. We need to advance on that and advise the president who has the powers to make regulations to a large extent make a presidential order on Maritime without going to the national assembly

ALSO READ  Mrs Kate Oghagbon, Mama NAGAFF steps aside as national women leader after 14 years.

“If the order has a clear direction, particularly because of our strategic importance in the subregion, in Africa and in the world. Even though things are at the lowest ebb, we control about 65 percent of cargo throughput within the subregion.

“If we have that, we need to be the hub in the region. It is in view of that that we are calling on Mr. President to immediately put in place a proper or expanded Maritime executive order so that we will be able to upgrade the one we already have which is the National Shipping Policy Decree 10 of 1987.

Earlier, outgoing National President, Captain Onoharigho in his remarks, called on members of the Institute to ensure commitment for the growth and development of NIS.

On some of the achievements recorded under his administration, Onoharigho noted that NIS was repositioned by getting rid of bad eggs within the administrative staff of the Institute.

He added that “This administration since inception intensified its training programmes, which created stronger ties between the Institute and the players in the maritime sector.

While speaking on the challenges, the immediate past president noted that the COVID-19 pandemic affected the Institute performance in terms of finance and capacity building for members but maintained that dedicated members were able to rise to the occasion and prevent NIS from collapse.

ALSO READ  Metropolitan Unit executives inaugurated, as executives promise truck owners of relief from challenges

“In reality,the general performance of most organisation was affected by Covid19 pandemic,and it also affected the activities of the Institute, its members and financial strength.

“As such most of the executive has to commit their personal funds to rescue the Institute from total collapse”.

Highpoints of the AGM was the presentation of awards to key players from the maritime sector.

Notably among those that are awardees at the event include: Managing Director Nigerian Ports Authority NPA, Mohammed Bello Koko, Managing Director National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA)), Dr. George Moghalu, Executive Secretary of Nigerian Shippers’Council, Mr. Emmanuel Jime and President of Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT) Nigeria, Mrs Mfon Usoro.

Others are Managing Director, Sea Transport Service, Aminu Umar, Hadiza Manko Nweke, Pharm. Khadijat Ifelola Sheidu-Shabi ,Emeka Okereke, Oscar Aguocha , Captain Iheanacho Ebubeogu, Ngozi Stella Obikili, Commodore Abdul Hamid Baba Inna, Chief Innocent Akuvue, Commodore Olugbenga Oladipo, Captain Lekan Olopade and Rear Admiral Lassa.

Meanwhile,the outgoing President, Captain Anthony Onoharigho was the receipient of NIS life patron.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button